An Interview With an Ex-EDL Member by Malteser Taster

fats

There has always been a cult like aspect to the English Defence League as exemplified by the recent ‘coronation’ of career criminal and spiv ‘King’ Tommy Robinson and the fanatical devotion of the final few to a dying political project that has achieved nothing. The treatment of people who have left the ‘movement’ further amplifies the cult aspect as we found out when an ex-EDL member agreed to answer a few questions. They have been on the receiving end of abuse and threats of violence from the ‘peacefully protesting’ groupuscule and it is clear the EDL see defection as a form of apostasy in relation to their bizarre, drunken, thuggish movement.

M: How did you get involved with the EDL?

Well it started 3 years ago. The EDL came to my hometown. I went down to check things out but before I knew what was happening it had kicked off, forcing police to break the demo. Anyway, I heard nothing about the EDL until February 5th 2011 when I was watching Sky News and the EDL were in Luton for their  homecoming demo. I heard their leader say they had a Facebook page so I thought ‘I was there on one of their demos and I didn’t even find out why they came’ so I checked out their page, read the mission statement and liked what I had read. So I requested to join and they put me in touch with the local division and I didn’t have to wait long for my first proper demo. I joined because I am against pedos and extremism.

M: What was it like?

The EDL mission statement is a pretence to gain members. My time in the EDL has been hell for me because I was easy led, was too involved, was always kicking off with someone I was receiving threats from. The stuff they post, the stuff I’ve seen, is not why I joined. I just wanted the government to listen to us and do something about the minority loony Muslims that take Islam out of context. To be honest, leaving felt great but now I have left I’m getting abuse from both sides and constant threats off EDL and NWI. I can’t leave my flat to go to work without being in fear. I’ve been to the police over it but there’s not much they can do until the EDL attack me. That’s why I turned to the left for support.

What else has happened?

They tried to kidnap my sister while she was ill in hospital so we had to get security on her ward. They threatened to smash my door through and kidnap my pup and kill me.  The North West Infidels are far more extreme than EDL but both hate Muslims. As a whole they need stopping. I was never with the NWI and I gave them shit saying get back in the EDL and unite as one and they gave me abuse for it.

M: well, thanks for taking the time to answer a few questions.

I haven’t had a chance to talk about it and what its made me feel so thank you.

network

About malatesta32

Malatesta, undercover anti-fascist blogger, has analyzed the changing fortunes of the British far right since 2009. He has written for the anarchist magazine Freedom and the book, Militant Anti-Fascism: 100 Years Of Resistance (AK Press 2015). http://www.akuk.com/index.php?_a=product&product_id=7285
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Interview With an Ex-EDL Member by Malteser Taster

  1. danny says:

    FUCK OFF NATHAN HANLEY
    LIEING NONCY BASTARD,YOUR SISTER WAS IN HOSPITAL COS YOU FUCKING FIDDLED WITH HER, DIRTY BASTARD

  2. Babs Davies says:

    what a load of bullshit

  3. Reblogged this on Casuals United Blog and commented:
    Well done commies, embracing nonces again! #edl, #evf, #nwi

  4. ronengland says:

    This “interview” is a blatant fake.

  5. Me Whu? says:

    he sounds a right pussy lol

Leave a Reply

